Interning at Swagelok

Posted: July 22, 2013 in Internships and Co-ops
Tags: , ,

Reporting on his summer internship is third-year Welding Engineering student Emeric.

This summer, I am interning at Swagelok Company in Solon, Ohio. I chose to pursue an internship here after touring their facilities through the Spring Break Job Shadow Program through Ohio State’s Engineering Career Services.   Swagelok produces valves and fittings for fluid and gas distribution systems. I work in the Order Fulfillment Center of their High Purity Group, which focuses on manufacturing components and fittings used in the Semiconductor and Biopharmaceutical industries.

I work with my technical sponsors and shop floor supervisors on the following projects:

  • Product Move: Analyze the prints and parts of components to determine what assemblies can be moved from a single lathe to a dual lathe weld cell. This requires me to not only develop tooling and parameters, but also an understanding of the products we make and how they are assembled.
  • Weld Wire Handling Documentation: Write standard work and add material certifications to databases. Assignment involves working with a lot of different departments (scheduling, warehouse, receiving, product engineering, and assembly engineering) in terms of how they handle weld filler material and stay in compliance with industry codes and standards.
  • Inner Diameter Purge Improvement: Implementation of an improved ID purge system to ensure a clean and consistent weld bead profile. This includes installation, testing, and training associates on the new system.

SwagelokLogoOverall, my experience this summer has met and exceeded my expectations. Swagelok Company did an extraordinary job of giving me a great welding engineering experience. Not once did I feel like the projects were busy work, and I could actually see results as I work on them. All projects are very related to welding engineering and exposed me to facets of engineering I often overlook, such as personal communications skills and adapting to a production environment.

Welding Engineering Students who are interested in working for Swagelok Company should visit the career section of their website at http://www.swagelok.com/careers.aspx


Leave a Reply

